Toyota Drastically Reduces Simulation Time with Automatic CFD Pre-Processing

Automotive & Transportation Webinar     16.02.2022

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 16th

REGISTER HERE

 

Session 1: 09:00 GMT / 10:00 CET / 11:00 EET and Israel / 14:30 IST / 17:00 BJT / 18:00 JST and KST

Session 2: 09:00am PT / 12:00pm ET / 18:00 CET

 

Not available for this time slot? Join anyway and we’ll send you the recording.

AUTOMOTIVE CFD - LIVE WEBINAR

What if you could just eliminate the huge amount of manual work it requires to create a detailed, watertight model of a complete vehicle, ready for CFD simulation from the start? In this live webinar, Antoine Delacroix, Vehicle Performance Engineer R&D at Toyota Motor Corporation, demonstrates how they do it.

Join us and ask him or our Cadence expert any questions you may have.


Creating a detailed CFD model for automotive applications normally requires a huge amount of manual work. Toyota eliminated this work thanks to an innovative CFD pre-processing workflow. In this webinar they will show you how.

Accurately predicting external aerodynamics, heating, ventilation, and air conditioning of vehicles requires setting up simulation domains that consist of a high number of components in CAD format. The main difficulty in working with so many components is creating the so-called watertight surface that is needed to be able to perform proper CFD analysis with a finite volume solver. This requires closing gaps, eliminating surfaces that are not in contact with the fluid, and solving interference issues before a surface and volume mesh can be generated. These tasks are usually performed manually, by using pre-processing software with CAD handling and mesh-generation capabilities, and it takes a considerable amount of work and time.

Toyota managed to entirely remove this manual part of the process by setting up an automatic pre-processing workflow that combines Cadence® Omnis™ AutoSeal’s powerful gap closing capabilities with the Omnis Hexpress volume-to-meshing approach.

Join us for this CadenceTECHTALK™ and watch how this allowed them to quickly generate models, ready-to-run, with almost no human intervention, drastically reducing simulation turnaround time.

Share this event: